
PUR
PLUS Horizontal Faucet Mount System
Trade-offFlow drops while filtering; pull-out sprayers often incompatible.
Skip it ifyour faucet is not threaded or you want RO-class reduction.
Product Reviews · Faucet mount
Four faucet-mount systems for kitchens that cannot drill — PUR, Brita Elite, Brita classic, and Culligan — compared on fit, flow, and whether the listing names health claims beyond chlorine taste.

Compare side by side
Pick two to four of the shortlist and compare type, installation and the NSF/ANSI claims each maker lists, plus any capacity or annual running cost the listing states.
| Spec | PUR PLUS Horizontal Faucet Mount System | Brita Elite Chrome Faucet Water Filter System |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Activated carbon | Activated carbon |
| Installation | faucet | faucet |
| Capacity | 100 gal | — |
| Annual cost | $60 / yr | $60 / yr |
| Certifications | NSF 42 certifiedNSF 53 certifiedNSF 58 — not statedNSF 401 — not stated | NSF 42 certifiedNSF 53 certifiedNSF 58 — not statedNSF 401 — not stated |
Specs are normalized from manufacturer listings; blanks mean the listing did not state the figure. We do not claim our own independent laboratory results.
Ranked shortlist

PLUS Horizontal Faucet Mount System
Trade-offFlow drops while filtering; pull-out sprayers often incompatible.
Skip it ifyour faucet is not threaded or you want RO-class reduction.

Elite Chrome Faucet Water Filter System
Trade-offChrome finish shows hard-water spotting; confirm Elite cartridge claim scope.
Skip it ifyou need a no-attachment pitcher-only setup.

Elite Advanced Faucet Filter System
Trade-offOlder listing variants exist — match the exact model before trusting a health claim.
Skip it ifclearance above the sink is too tight for the diverter.

CULFMWHRF Faucet Mount Filter
Trade-offProprietary cartridge family; check long-term stock.
Skip it ifyou prefer Brita/PUR cartridge ecosystems.
FAQ
Match the exact model in an NSF, WQA, or IAPMO directory. We label standards certified when that match exists; marketing-only language stays claims-only. Check 42 for taste/odor, 53 for health claims such as lead, 58 for RO, and 401 for named emerging compounds.
Follow the manufacturer’s rated interval for the cartridge you buy. Breakthrough usually happens before taste changes, so do not stretch a cartridge past its rating just because the water still tastes fine.
A blank means the manufacturer’s own listing did not state the figure. We publish only what the source states rather than estimating a number — an empty cell is more honest than an invented one.
Methodology
Every row traces to a dated source. We normalize fields and keep blanks honest. We never invent a removal percentage. NSF/ANSI standards are labeled certified when we matched the exact model in a third-party directory; otherwise they stay claims-only.
How these picks were chosen